Clubs and Organizations

Did you know Delta has more than 40 clubs and organizations? 

Joining a club is a great way to get to know people. And, a great way to dive into your passions and interests outside the classroom. Some of them are even designed to give you a support system to reach your dreams.

Something for everyone

If you see a club that interests you, contact the club advisor for more information. 

Active Minds at Delta is part of a nationwide non-profit organization with the mission of action and advocacy in mental health. Our goal is to change the conversation on mental health and help those who may suffer in silence.  

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu

Delta's Black Student Union advocates for the educational, financial, political, cultural and social development of Delta's under-represented students while working to effect lasting, positive change in the surrounding communities. The club's mission is to provide Delta students with the tools and resources needed to achieve success and realize their life's potential.

Advisor: Dorian Phelps (dorianphelps@delta.edu

The goal of the Delta Chemistry Club is to collaborate and explore the many diverse areas of chemistry- helping students learn from all levels of chemistry, chemical processing, chemical technician, health-related, and engineering.

Advisor: Bernadette Harkness (bernadetteharkness@delta.edu)

Collegiate DECA is a student driven organization that values competence, innovation, integrity, and teamwork.  Their mission to prepare students for careers in the business world by integrating skills learned in the classroom into real world experiences.

Advisor: Kristy Nelson (kristynelson@delta.edu)

 The Delta Collegiate Newspaper is a paper that keeps students engaged and informed about things that are happening on their very own campus.

Visit the Collegiate

The Cross Country Club is an organization of runners at Delta who support the success of athletes around them while training in a team setting, and to be involved in the local running community. Their goal is to encourage both physical and mental fitness of the members.  

Co-Advisors:  Stacy Stremlow (stacystremlow@delta.edu) and Kimberly Katzer (kimberlykatzer@delta.edu)

The Cyber Defense club allows interested students to meet and practice defending a network from a cyber attack in a controlled environment. It will prepare students for virtual and on-site competitions in defending networks. This club will provide students with results driven outcomes. Performance is the best measure of learning, and learning is best accomplished by doing. This club gives students engaging real-world scenarios, where the student not only reads about a cyber attack, but actually defends against them.

Advisor: Kristopher Howery (kristopherhowery@delta.edu)

The Debate Club will be an organized, united, on-campus team that will explore a wide range of mutually agreeable topics, which shall be presented in a heavily mediated fashion. The main goal of the club will be to learn and reflect on two opposing perspectives that are based around a chosen subject.

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu)

The Delta Astronomy Club aims to increase interest and understanding in astronomy and other sciences among Delta students and the public. We will accomplish this by having opportunities at Delta and in the community to observe various wonders of the sky.

Co-Advisors: Adam VanDyke (adamvandyke@delta.edu), Aurelian Balan (abalan@delta.edu), & Kevin Dehne (ktdehne@delta.edu)

Learn more about the Astronomy Club

 Collegiate Farm Bureau is to educate students about agricultural policies and to develop potential leaders in the agricultural industry.

Advisor: Leslie Siefka (siefka@msu.edu)

The mission of the Delta College Disc Golf Club is to provide an opportunity for students to experience the physical and mental health benefit of playing disc golf and to encourage camaraderie among the students.  Also to provide students with an opportunity to compete in the sport at amateur and collegiate levels.  

Advisor: Audra Swarthout (audraswarthout@delta.edu)

The Delta College Military Association (DCMA) provides support and assistance to military students while creating camaraderie that encourages open dialogue among veterans on campus. DCMA is committed to bridging the gap between civilians and veterans and actively supports the successful transition to the classroom and community.

Advisor: Brittany Hodges (brittanyhodges@delta.edu)


 The Delta College Student Nurse Association (DCSNA) is available to students who are currently in their nursing clinical.  DCSNA provides students with opportunities to serve the student body as well as the community.

Co-Advisors: Donna Militello (donnamilitello@delta.edu) & Amy Wegener (amywegener@delta.edu)

Our objective is to engage more students in a healthier lifestyle while learning more about themselves, mentally and physically. We will host weekly exercise activities aimed at engaging all FITT principles and aspects of fitness: muscular strength, muscular endurance, cardiovascular fitness, flexibility, and body composition.

Advisor: Renee Hoppe (reneehoppe@delta.edu)

The Delta Night Garden is a poetry club whose main goal is to cultivate and promote an appreciation for poetry through the participation in regularly scheduled poetry writing groups and workshops and by engaging in poetry-centered outreach activities at Delta College and within the community.

Advisor: Donny Winter (donaldwinter@delta.edu)

Delta Skates provides Delta College Students and community members a forum in which to skate, have fun, improve fitness and learn from others in the skating community. Delta Skates will provide varied, regular opportunities to skate with people in the community from different sports, including roller derby, jam skating, ice and inline speed skating, ice and roller figure skating, ice and roller hockey, skateboarding and recreational skating.

Advisor: Nicole Ryan (nicoleryan@delta.edu)

The Delta Soccer Club is a club designed to bring together the soccer community at Delta College to provide an opportunity to play soccer at the collegiate level.

Advisor: Nathan Blecke (ncblecke@delta.edu)

Delta College is proud to participate in The Democracy Commitment, a national community college initiative to develop and expand programs, projects and curricula that engage students in civic learning and democratic practice. We have a Democracy Commitment student club and a core team of faculty and staff bringing together perspectives from across campus. 

Co-Advisors: Lisa Lawrason (lisalawrason@delta.edu) & Kimberly Klein (kimberlyklein@delta.edu)

The mission of the Dental Hygiene Club is to create an atmosphere that promotes a boundless learning environment for Dental Hygiene students to continue their education and a culture of giving back to the community.

Advisor:  Pam Livingston (pamelalivingston@delta.edu)

The group’s mission is to engage in activities to further their own knowledge of the environment, to explore the wonders of the environment and pass that knowledge on to others so that they may also enjoy and respect the world around us.

Advisor: Kristopher Nitz (kristophernitz@delta.edu

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE ENVIRONMENTAL CLUB

The club's mission is to acquire and expand skills in fiber arts and design including, but not limited to knitting, weaving, sewing, spinning and fashion design.

Advisor: Sherri Archer (sherriarcher@delta.edu)

Hogwarts is a group of students that are interested in everything Harry Potter and Hogwarts related.  The club meets to discuss the books, movies and play some Quidditch.

Advisor: Dr. Laura Dull (lauradull@delta.edu)

The objective of the OADN Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society - Beta Tau Chapter is to recognize the academic excellence of students in the study of Associate Degree Nursing (ADN). The society shall encourage the pursuit of advance degrees in the profession of nursing as well as continuing education as a life-long professional responsibility. Additionally, the society shall participate in the recruitment of qualified individuals into the profession of nursing.

Co-Advisors:  Meredith Bladecki (meredithbladecki@delta.edu), Wendy Szafranski (wendyszafranski@delta.edu) and Molly Stapish (mollystapish@delta.edu)

The Honors Program exists to provide a challenge inside the classroom; the Leadership Board exists to provide service and leadership challenges outside the classroom.

Advisor: Mark Brown (markbrown@delta.edu)

The mission of the Information Technology & Security Club is to provide professional development, networking opportunities, and serve as a centralized resource for students interested in Information Security and Computer Technology disciplines.

Advisor: Cynthia Drouse (cjdrouse@delta.edu)

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE ITS CLUB

The vision of InterVarsity Christian Fellowship/USA is to see students and faculty transformed, campuses renewed, and world changers developed. Our goal is to bring the love of Christ to every corner of the campus. We strive to accomplish this with service to the Delta Community in the form of Bible Studies, outreaches and service projects that demonstrate the Love of Christ.

Advisor: Eric Wiesenauer (ericwiesenauer@delta.edu)

Mu Omega Delta is a men's leadership development program for Delta students.  The purpose of MOD is to provide motivation and a positive social network for students who want to become academically successful and financially stable.  We want you to succeed!

Advisor: Eric Wiesenauer (ericwiesenauer@delta.edu)  

The purpose of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society for two-year colleges is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students, to provide opportunities for leadership and service, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Advisor: Mark Brown (markbrown@delta.edu)

The Photo Club at Delta College brings artists of all skill levels, to learn, grow and share photography techniques while creating a safe environment for self expression.

Advisor: Mike Glowacki (michaelglowacki@delta.edu)

Pioneers Rising is a club that raises awareness among the Delta student body about their civic potential and empowers them to affect positive change in their communities.

Advisor: Kathie Marchlewski (kathiemarchlewski@delta.edu)

The Delta College Programming Board organizes campus life and multicultural events outside the classroom to engage students. This group, under the direction of the Office of Student and Civic Engagement, is able to plan, develop and implement programs that they choose together as a united team.

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu)

The mission of the Physical Therapist Assistant Club is to create an atmosphere that promotes a boundless learning environment for PTA students to continue their education and a culture of giving back to the community.

Advisor: Chris Hausbeck (christopherhausbeck@delta.edu

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE PTA CLUB

 Sigma Kappa Delta (ΣΚΔ) is a collegiate honor society for students of English at two-year colleges. Eligible for memberships are students currently enrolled in a two-year college with a Sigma Kappa Delta Chapter who have completed a minimum of one college course (excluding developmental courses) in English language or literature, with a grade no less than a B, and a minimum grade point average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) in general scholarship; they must have completed at least one semester of college course work for a cumulative total of twelve semester hours.

 Advisor: Crystal Starkey (crystalstarkey@delta.edu)

The mission of SOHL is to promote and support the development of education, as well as implementing culture through programs and services offered to Hispanic students at Delta College and in the community.

Advisor: Monica Hernandez-Alaniz  (monicahernandez@delta.edu

The purpose of Sociology in Action is to raise awareness of pressing social issues through film, visual displays, and installations, and other events. We also want to create opportunities for professional networking and an outlet for social action to effect positive change in our communities.

Advisor: Christina Miller-Bellor (christinamillerbello@delta.edu)

The Student-Athlete Advisory Board was created to empower student athletes to make a change in the community and the college.

Advisor:  Dionne McCollum (dionnemccollum@delta.edu)

The Student Leadership Academy is a finite program looks to develop and home variety Leadership skills needed to expand their “soft” skills. Soft skills are “personal attributes that enable someone to interact effectively and harmoniously with other people.”

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu)

Unison is an organization that will amplify the voice of the LGBT community and their allies here at Delta College and will help to create education and awareness for the campus community.

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu)  

The Volunteer Incentive Program is designed to “bridge the gap” between college students and organizations within their community. The program also encourages students to become civically engaged on campus and becoming socially responsible throughout the tri-city area.

Advisor: Michelle White (michellewhite@delta.edu)

W.I.N. supports, inspires and empowers the women of Delta in a safe space to foster self-esteem, positive relationships and self-awareness.

Advisor: Alison Ginter (alisonginter@delta.edu

The mission of this group is to engage young people in politics and show them how great the Democratic party and message is. We will also have group discussions about politics proposed by the government and raise awareness on pressing issues.

Advisor: Kim Klein (kimberlyklein@delta.edu)


Start a club

Any person enrolled as a student and currently registered in at least one-credit course at Delta College can create a student organization. Students organizations should include, not but be limited to, interest groups, student governing bodies or college curricula-related groups. 

Requirements

    • Must have at least three members, all of whom must be enrolled at Delta. 
    • Must have a full-time faculty or staff advisor
    • Must have a mission statement that does not overlap the mission of another registered student organization. 

Contact us
Make an appointment with student services departments.

1961 Delta Road
University Center, MI 48710
989–686–9000
info@delta.edu