Delta's Motorcycle Safety program offers hands-on, comprehensive training in a safe and comfortable environment. Our classes are taught by Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) certified instructors who not only have a passion for riding – but riding safely. Improving the safety of motorcyclists is our primary goal.
Delta College trains hundreds of people to operate a motorcycle safely. The Motorcycle
Safety Program is offered in late spring/summer and includes on-line safety training,
classroom learning and riding a motorcycle on the motorcycle safety course at the
main campus. Delta College motorcycle safety instructors are some of the best in the
state of Michigan. Our site is well run, organized and the instructors are very knowledgeable
with many having over 10 years of instructing experience.
Individuals with minimal experience may take the Basic Rider Course. Delta provides the motorcycle. The focus is on basic riding skills. Successful completion will allow the rider to waive the skills and knowledge test requirement to obtain their motorcycle endorsement. The course is approximately 20 hours and is $50.
Delta’s Motorcycle Safety Program is supported by a state grant administered by the Michigan Department of State and federal funds from the Michigan Office Highway Safety and Planning.
Basic Rider Course
The Basic Rider Course is for those with minimal experience operating a motorcycle. Delta provides the motorcycle with the course instruction happening at our main campus. Focus is on developing basic riding skills. Successful completion will allow the rider to waive the skills and knowledge test requirement to obtain their motorcycle endorsement.
All students must complete three hours of on-line course training prior to attending the first day of class. A link with instructions will be emailed to the student seven days prior to their class start date.
You must provide your own helmet. Your helmet and all riding gear should be brought to class every day. Delta College acknowledges the State of Michigan's motorcycle helmet law, but it's still a requirement to wear a D.O.T. approved helmet while participating in any Motorcycle Safety Foundation course.
COVID-19 Safety precautions are in place and may change over time. All students will receive an email with instructions on applicable safety precaution requirements prior to class, which may include wearing a face mask. There are no exceptions to these precautions put in place to keep all students safe.
Basic Rider Courses are offered from April – August.
|Semester||Course Number||Section Number||Dates||Course Schedule|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP400 - Full||4/28-4/30 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP300 - Full||5/1-5/4 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP405||5/5-5/7 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP305||5/8-5/11 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP410 - Full||5/12-5/14 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP310||5/15-5/18 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP415||5/19-5/21 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP420||5/19-5/21 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP100||5/22-5/25 M-R Mornings||9am-1pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP425||6/2-6/4 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP430||6/2-6/4 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP315||6/5-6/8 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP435||6/9-6/11 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP320||6/12-6/15 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP440||6/16-6/18 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP445||6/16-6/18 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP105||6/19-6/22 M-R Morning||9:00am - 1:00pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP450||6/23-6/25 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP455||6/23-6/25 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SP325||6/26-6/29 M-R Evening||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU300||7/10-7/13 M-R Evening||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU400||7/14-7/16 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU305||7/17-7/20 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU405||7/21-7/23 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU410||7/21-7/23 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU310||7/24-7/27 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU415||7/28-7/30 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU315||7/31-8/3 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU420||8/4-8/6 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU320||8/7-8/10 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU425||8/11-8/13 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU325||8/14-8/17 M-R Evenings||5:30-9:30pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1015||SU430||8/18-8/20 Weekend||F 5:30-9:30pm; S & N 8am-5:55pm|
Basic Rider 2 Course
The Basic Rider 2 Course is a 1-day course designed for experienced riders who want to obtain their endorsement or enhance their riding skills. It is strongly recommended riders use their own motorcycles.
Basic Rider 2 Courses are offered from May-July.
|Semester||Course Number||Section Number||Dates||Course Schedule|
|23/CS||CMR 1019||SP400||5/13||8am – 5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1019||SP405||5/14||8am – 5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1019||SU400||7/15||8am – 5:55pm|
|23/CS||CMR 1019||SU405||7/16||8am – 5:55pm|
Requirements for all Motorcycle Safety Courses
- Ability to ride a bicycle
- Valid driver’s license (or a permit, if 15 years of age)
- Completed and signed MSF Waiver form (PDF)
- D.O.T. approved helmet*
- Long pants only - jeans are suggested (no shorts)
- Long sleeves only
- Boots - ankles must be covered (no high heels or tennis shoes)
- Eye protection - goggles or face shield are recommended. Prescription glasses, shatterproof safety glasses and sunglasses are acceptable due to the low speeds on the course
- Gloves - fitted and full-fingered, leather is suggested
Steps to Take the Class
Step #1: Apply to Delta College
You must apply to be a Delta College student so you can get your Student ID. Apply here. If you are already a Delta College student, visit the Portal to select your class.
- If you are already a current Delta College student, visit Student Planning to register for an available class.
Step #2: After Applying
You will receive an email indicating your student ID and instructions to register for classes.
Step #3: Set up Your Delta Student Portal
Activate your Delta Student Portal. You will need your Delta ID # and the last four digits of your social security number.
Step #4 Register for Class
Download our Step-by-step registration guide to help you along the way.
- Log into your Delta Student Portal, click on the Student Self-Service link, then select Student Planning from the menu.
- In the Search for Courses search box, type in your continuing education course number:
- CMR-1015 (Motorcycle Safety)
- Find your course and click on View Available Sections
- Locate the section that fits your schedule and click Add Section to Schedule, then Add Section.
- Click on Back to Plan and Schedule and select Register Now. Make sure that you receive an email confirmation of your registration in your Delta email account.
Step #5: Paying for Your Class
Tuition must be paid at the time of course registration. Pay online through your Delta Student Portal (Student Self Service > Student Billing) or by phone at (989)686-9394.
You must pay for the class or you will not be fully registered and cannot attend the class.
NOTE: All registration fees are non-transferable and non-refundable.
Step #6: Keep checking your email!
Delta will email you instructions for where to go on the first day of class and send you your online safety training link one week before your class begins.
- Need help applying? Call Admissions 989-686-9093 or email@example.com.
- Need help with registration? Call Registration 989-686-9305 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- General Questions? 989-686-9176 or email@example.com.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does the class cost?
If I register but can’t go, can I send someone else?
You cannot transfer this class to another student.
Can I get my money back if I don’t attend?
This class does not provide a refund. As a registered student you will be provided access to online safety training which cannot be reused. We do not provide full or partial refunds of any kind for the class.
Do I have to wear a mask due to COVID-19 safety precautions?
Yes if required. All Delta College visitors and students must abide by Covid-19 safety precautions. These is an evolving process as Delta works with the Bay County Health Department on what precautions are necessary. Prior to the start of class, you will be sent an email indicating what the current safety precautions are and instructions. There are no exceptions to wearing a mask if it is required at the time of training. Your safety is our number one priority.
Do I have to be a Delta student to take the class?
You must be a registered Delta College student.
My computer doesn’t work. How else can I register?
Visit a public library and use the computer there to access the delta.edu website. All registration is done electronically and can be accessed on Motorcycle Safety - Delta College
Do I need equipment for my class?
You must provide your own helmet. Bring it on day two of class. Delta College acknowledges the State of Michigan's motorcycle helmet law, but it's still a requirement to wear a D.O.T. approved helmet while participating in any Motorcycle Safety Foundation course. Delta College provides the motorcycle for training purposes.
Do I have to take the 3-4 hour online part of the course to complete this class?
All Basic Rider students are required to complete the online portion prior to the first day of class. This is a state requirement for the program. You will receive an email with access to this part of training one week prior to the start of your class.
Can I register without paying for the class?
Only after you select your class and pay will you be fully registered for the class.
If the class is full, is there a waitlist?
If the class is full, you may choose to physically come to campus that day and stand by. If a registered student does not show up, you may pay $50 and be admitted to the class. There are no guarantees of class admission when doing stand-by.
What if Delta must cancel the class?
In the event of unforeseen circumstances Delta College cannot offer the scheduled class, you will be notified and provided a full refund.
"Had a blast learning how to ride safely. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to become a rider or better rider."
Motorcycle Safety Student