Please enable JavaScript to view this page.
Graduate Student Awards recognizes student academic achievements

April 24, 2024

Katherine M. Pierson and Amy M. Tomchick

Katherine M. Pierson (left) and Amy M. Tomchick

Delta College celebrated the success of its high-achieving students during its annual Graduate Student Awards Ceremony Wednesday, April 24.

The awards recognize outstanding new graduates who represent the future of the Great Lakes Region and beyond. Awards are given to students for their academic achievement, hard work and persistence in a number of areas.

Thanks to the generosity of many businesses, organizations and individuals, recipients will receive lasting recognition on plaques displayed at Delta and monetary gifts to assist with their future endeavors.

Award of Excellence for Academic & Citizenship Award — William R. Collings Award of Excellence, $1,250

Katherine M. Pierson graduated from Delta in June 2023 with an Associate in Business Studies in Legal Support Professional with the Highest Honors. Prior to her career in law, she worked for 10 years in emergency medical services and continues giving back to her community. She has volunteered as a medical standby for a variety of community events and has assisted families through the difficult process of caring for sick, injured or dying loved ones. She said of her service, “I will always strive to provide information and knowledge in the most compassionate and honest way possible.” Katherine plans to continue to advance her career by earning her bachelor’s degree and going to law school to continue serving her community to help guide those in need through an incredibly difficult legal system.

Exemplary Service & Leadership Award — Robert and Joyce Hetzler Family Award, $1,000

Amy M. Tomchick, from Midland, earned her Associate in Business Studies in General Management with a 3.9 GPA in December 2023. Amy is a member of the Community Giving Committee at her workplace, working to raise funds that benefit organizations throughout the Great Lakes Bay Region. She also volunteers monthly with the Bridge Food Center, donates blood throughout the year, helps with camp Neyati cleanup efforts and plants flowers along roadways as part of Midland’s beautification efforts.

Program Achievement Awards — Graduate Student Award Recipients, $750

Applied Industrial Technology Award

Elijah D. Soyza

Art Award

Trinity M. Decaire

Business, Computer & Information Technology Award

Arianna C. Casto

Education Award

Kierstin M. Launstein

Engineering & Mechanical Technology Award

Bryce A. Kipfmiller

English Award

Sherry R. Stanton

Health Sciences Award

Caroline E. Temple

Law Enforcement Award

Megan R. Mathews

Life Sciences Award

Savanah R. Gordon

Nursing Award

Quenten I. Flint

Office Professions & Administration Award

Amy L. Roussel

Physical Sciences Award

Caroline F. Garcia

Social Sciences Award

Katrina D. Hutcheson

Board of Trustees Award Recipients, $500

Graduates with a 4.0 GPA
Vincent R. Brown
Madison R. Dougherty
Cassidy P. Grezeszak
Christopher M. Hazel, II
Katrina D. Hutcheson
Alyssa R. Kretz
Nicole Logghe
Kathryn M. Nickell
Jennifer A. Ostermann
Amy L. Roussel
Benjamin R. Rowell
Anna R. Schoeneherr
Renee J. Vasquez