Please enable JavaScript to view this page.
Delta College recognizes student achievement at Graduate Student Awards

May 20, 2021

Delta College is celebrating some of its best and brightest students during the 2021 Graduate Student Awards.

The online event recognizes outstanding new graduates who represent the future of the Great Lakes Region and beyond. The awards are given to students for their academic achievement, hard work and persistence in a number of areas.

“Although we can’t celebrate these outstanding graduates in person this year, that doesn’t reduce their achievements, perseverance and hard work,” said Dr. Reva Curry, vice president of Instruction and Learning Services. “These incredible individuals proved their academic abilities in the classroom, demonstrated strong leadership skills and generously gave their time to their community. We are proud to call them Pioneers.”

Thanks to the generosity of many businesses, organizations and individuals, winners will receive lasting recognition on plagues displayed at the college and monetary gifts to assist with their future endeavors.

  • The William R. Collings Award of Excellence recipient will receive $1,250.
  • The Robert and Joyce Hetzler Family Award recipient will receive $1,000.
  • Graduate Student Award recipients will receive $750 each.
  • Board of Trustees recipients will receive $500 each.

Highest Recognition Awards

Academic Achievement & Superior Citizenship
William R. Collings Award of Excellence
Brian M. Kuch, Jr.

Kuch, a native of Bay City, was enrolled in Delta’s three-plus-one program with Northwood University, working toward an associate’s degree in construction management and a bachelor’s degree in business, all while working full time as a project manager in construction. Furthering his education and increasing opportunities to impact the community are what motivates Kuch. In high school, he was a volunteer counselor-in-training at Chippewa Nature Center, and he has volunteered with Midland County Habitat for Humanity and Bay County’s Ramp Blitz. His goal is to start his own construction company.

Service & Leadership
Robert and Joyce Hetzler Award

Christopher J. Galan

Upon enrolling in the residential construction program at Delta, Galan quickly recognized a need for skilled labor among the local workforce. Working full-time in the industry himself, he developed a student chapter of the Home Builders Association. Galan said constructing an addition for the Mustard Seed Shelter for Women and Children in Saginaw was the highlight of his time at Delta. Galan serves on the board of St. Bartholomew Lutheran School in Kawkawlin, where his three children are students. He said, “I always do my best to lead by example for my children and those around me, and find great joy in being a part of the success of others.”

Board of Trustees Award Recipients
Graduates with a 4.0 GPA

Kyle S. Bischer
Catherine E. Comtois
Elizabeth K. Green
Nadia P. Khan
Brian M. Kuch, Jr.
Rachel F. Larson
Alyssa M. Shuler
Emily E. Taylor
Emma N. VanDongen
Sierra J. Yell

Graduate Student Award Recipients

Applied Industrial/Technical
Gougeon Employees Foundation Award
Brian M. Kuch, Jr.

Peter B. and Suzanne Frantz Award
Catherine E. Comtois

Business Management
Morley Family Foundation Award
Eden F. Belill

Edward and Kathryn (Dunn) Langenburg Award
Josie C. Vincent

Engineering & Technology
Fred E. Dulmage Memorial Award
Bethany G. Roberts 

Margaret T. Timm Award
Nadia P. Khan

Finance & Information Technology
TCF National Bank Award
Chase E. Dzingleski

Foreign Language
Lola Bishop Whitney Award
Raquel C. Cortez

Health Sciences
James R. McIntyre Award
Amber M. Sarnowski

Law Enforcement
Fraternal Order of Police, Bay City Lodge 103 Award
Gabrielle A. Holman 

Life Sciences
Julius and Irene Sutto Award
Elizabeth K. Green

Jim & Janis Van Tiflin Award
Rachel E. Helmreich

Frances Goll Mills Award
Chelaine L. Carey

Office Administration & Technology
Delta College Award
Christine A. Alexander

Physical Science
Dow Michigan Operations Award
Conner S. Sika

Social Science
Wesley C. Timm Award
Rachel F. Larson