Lynn Heatley Award

Award for distinguished services for adjunct faculty

George Lynn Heatley's early boyhood years were spent on his father's farm in Lapeer County, and his love of the farm prompted him to study botany, biology, agriculture and horticulture. Lynn was the author of many publications on conservation and agriculture, and he even developed a special hybrid grass seed mixture that was sold locally as the “Heatley Mixture.” Heatley's lawn seed mixture was used by the Midland Public School system on its lawns and sold well among homeowners in Midland.

He was a member of the Midland County Fair Board of Managers for eight years and was eventually presented on honorary life membership in 1954. His tireless efforts with youth in the community were also recognized. He taught in the Midland Public Schools for over 38 years where he served as Chapter advisor to the Future Farmers of America for 21 years. He was a member of the Michigan Education Association for over forty years and taught Sunday school for his church for over 25 years.

Honors bestowed upon Lynn Heatley 

    • Honorary State Farmer Degree from The National Future Farmers of America
    • Forney W. Clement memorial Award from Kiwanis International for Community Service
    • Citizen of the Year Award presented by The Midland Civitan Club
    • Distinguished Service Award from Michigan Association of Public School Adult Educators
    • Senior Citizen of the Year from Midland County Council on Aging
    • Listed in Who's Who in American Education

Mr. Heatley also worked for the Midland Public School System in the area of adult and continuing education. He continued nurturing adult and continuing education on behalf of the tri-county area as an Adult and Vocational Education consultant at Delta College from 1963 to 1978. While at Delta, Lynn was instrumental in the development of Community Education and Women's Education Programs in the early 1970s.

In the late 1970s, staff in the Community Affairs Division developed the Lynn Heatley Award for Distinguished Service for adjunct faculty. The first award plaques were presented in 1980 to four recipients during the President's Annual Recognition Dinner for adjunct faculty. The awards are now presented at the annual Employee Awards Banquet, and the tradition continues.

Past recipients

Peter Clouse
Anne Wooden
Alan Zombeck

Kathleen M. Faccio
LeAnn K. Reif