Delta College logoDelta College: Serving Bay, Midland, and Saginaw counties since 1961

AAUP Service and Governance Award

Delta College Chapter of the AAUP

Founded in 1915, the American Association of University Professor's purpose is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Delta's chapter of AAUP dates from shortly after the founding of the College and has a long, continuing record of independent faculty advocacy.

Congratulations 2014 AAUP Award Winners!!!

AAUP Service Award:  

Stuart Barbier, Professor, English

The Delta Chapter of the American Association of University Professors is pleased to recognize Stuart Barbier for his outstanding service to Delta College.  Stuart has served students, colleagues, and the college as a whole through a variety of initiatives (too numerous to mention here) during his career.  He founded the Delta College Prism Alliance, which he continues to co-chair. The Delta Prism Alliance is a group of sixty-eight faculty and staff members working toward a main goal of establishing a safe climate at Delta College for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) students, staff, and faculty.   He is a winner of both the Don Laughner Award for Creative Change and the League for Innovation’s Innovation of the Year Award.  Stuart keeps active in the community by serving on both the Bay City Historic District Commission and the Center Avenue Neighborhood Association. So it is with great honor that the Delta chapter of the AAUP presents Stuart with the AAUP Service Award for his significant contributions to equity, diversity and inclusion at Delta College and in the community.






AAUP Governance Award:


Laura Dull, Associate Professor, History

The Delta Chapter of the American Association of University Professors is pleased to recognize Laura Dull for her dedicated shared governance work with Delta College.  Laura has served on both Senate and ad hoc committees too numerous to mention here.  Through her leadership as the President of the AAUP, Laura started publishing detailed recaps of Board of Trustee meetings as seen from the faculty perspective.  She is a strong advocate for the Senate as a whole, as well as for its individual groups of faculty, administration and support staff. She can always be counted on to provide insight and a well thought out perspective in terms of college governance.  She is known college-wide as an individual who respects and treats everyone the same regardless of job classification.  Due to her tremendous belief in our shared governance system, the Delta chapter of the AAUP proudly presents its Governance award to Laura.

Delta College Seal

1961 Delta Road, University Center MI 48710 | 989-686-9000 |
Delta College is an Equal Opportunity Organization, committed to excellence through inclusiveness and diversity.
Copyright ©