Please enable JavaScript to view this page.
Delta College celebrates 56th Annual Employee Awards

March 24, 2021

Bergstein Award winners -- Daisy McQuiston and Stuart Barbier

Daisy McQuiston and Stuart Barbier are recipients of the Bergstein Award for Teaching Excellence. 

For the 56th year, Delta College recognizes the outstanding achievements of its faculty and staff members and celebrates their years of service during the annual Employee Awards.

This year’s honorees include two faculty members who are recipients of the Bergstein Award for Teaching Excellence, the highest honor a faculty member can receive. The recipients, Daisy McQuiston and Stuart Barbier, were chosen by a vote from students and faculty.

McQuiston, nursing program coordinator and associate professor of nursing, joined Delta in 2005 as an adjunct professor.

“I am truly speechless to be receiving this award,” McQuiston said. “One person, one interaction has the power to make a difference in someone’s life. Tears of joy run down my face knowing that my interactions are making a difference in people’s lives.”

Barbier, professor of English, said it’s an honor to be chosen by his students and colleagues during an especially challenging year.

“Helping students succeed is rewarding itself, but it’s nice to be recognized in this way for the hard work teaching entails,” Barbier said. “This last year has been particularly stressful, as I had to figure out the best ways to reach my students in an online environment.”

Congratulations to the following individuals:

Bergstein Award for Teaching Excellence
Daisy McQuiston (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Nursing
Stuart Barbier (Bay City), Professor of English

Ormond E. Barstow and Ludo K. Frevel Award for Scholarly Achievement
Michael Evans (Mount Pleasant), Instructor of History

Rollin M. Gerstacker Award for Innovative Use of Technology in Teaching
Jacob Vanhouten (Midland), Professor of Biology

Don Laughner Award for Creative Change and the Innovation of the Year Award (from the League for Innovation in the Community College)
Charissa Urbano (Ypsilanti), Professor of Biology

Lynn Heatley Award for Distinguished Service by an Adjunct Faculty Member
Mary Hansen (Midland), Adjunct Faculty of Chemistry
Michelle Iqbal (Saginaw), Adjunct Faculty of Social Science

Executive Committee for Administrative and Professional Staff (ECAPS) Team Excellence Award
eLearning Team
Jonathan Hoerauf (Bay City), Instructional Design Specialist; Justin Bamberg (Hemlock), LMS & Multimedia Design Technologist; Katie Milligan (Saginaw), eLearning Office Professional; Sheryl Jensen (Saginaw), eLearning Office Professional; Dennis Roebuck (Burt), Professor of Computer Science & Information Technology; William Wesolek (Bay City), former Information Technology Project Manager

ECAPS Willie E. Thompson Outstanding A/P Service Award
Lisa Davis (Bay City), Director of Financial Aid

Faculty Executive Committee Award for Support Staff Distinguished Service
Lex Spence (Bay City), Administrative Office Professional

Support Staff Excellence Award
Anna Williams (Midland), Administrative Assistant to the Vice President

Congratulations to the following employees honored for their years of service.

35 Years
Veronica Bond (Saginaw), Business Services Specialist

30 Years
Timothy Allen (Bay City), Professor of Mathematics
Peter Carlson (Midland), Professor of Mathematics
Pamela Clark (Saginaw), Executive Director of Institutional Advancement
Bill Schueneman (Midland), Associate Professor of Computer Science and Information Technology

25 Years
David Bailey (Flint), Professor of Biology
David Baker (Midland), Professor of Chemistry
Christopher Curtis (Midland), Professor of Psychology
Cecilia Lusk (St. Charles), Administrative Office Professional – Articulation
Mike Spitz (Indian River), Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant

20 Years
Edward Andres (Oakley), Facilities Planning Assistant
Thomas Bennett (Bay City), Broadcasting General Manager
Marcie Carter (Auburn), Bridge Program Coordinator
Susan Harvey (Freeland), Professor of Psychology
Vickie Miller (Saginaw), Coordinator – Acquisitions Library
Wendy Ramirez (Essexville), Administrative Assistant to Vice President
Daniel Schuchardt (Bay City), General Maintenance
Kirk Wolf (Bay City), Professor of Philosophy

15 Years
Lindsey Bourassa (Bay City), Career Development and Employer Engagement Specialist
Toni Clegg (Alger), Professor of Accounting
Emily Clement (Midland), Manager of Strategic Partnerships
Matthew Eyre (Midland), Professor of Mechanical Technology and Design
Dawn Fairchild (Midland), Associate Professor of Management
Ryan Goodrow (Saginaw), Technologist/Financial Aid Advisor
Mary Gross (Essexville), Cashier Office Coordinator
Renee Hoppe (Bay City), Professor of Lifelong Wellness
Kimberly Klein (Bay City), Professor of Political Science
Lisa Lawrason (Beaverton), Professor of Political Science
Scott McIntosh (Bay City), General Trades
Daisy McQuiston (Saginaw) Associate Professor of Nursing
Kelli Prena (Ossineke), Assistant Professor of Nursing
Dennis Roebuck (Burt), Professor of Computer Science and Information Technology
Donald Southwell (Midland), Associate Professor of Computer Science and Information Technology
Joseph Yezak (Midland), Broadcasting Program Manager

10 Years
Brian Aldrich (Birch Run), Associate Professor of Chemistry
Justin Bamberg (Hemlock), LMS and Multimedia Design Technologist
Meredith Bladecki (Bay City), Associate Professor of Nursing
Carrie Burdzinski (Northville), Associate Professor of Biology
Benjamin Clore (Freeland), Associate Professor of Art
Kristin Cornelius (Bay City), Associate Professor of English
Maureen Donegan (Davisburg), Associate Professor of Psychology
Amy French (Saginaw), Associate Professor of History
Jonathan Gittins (Bay City), Associate Professor of Chemistry
Timothy Hendrickson (Midland), Associate Professor of Music
Joseph Hernandez (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Candy Kruzell (Bay City), TAA Case Manager - Great Lakes MI Works!
Marilyn Lemerand (Freeland), Assistant Professor of Communication
Diane Lobsiger-Braden (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Engineering
Kathie Marchlewski (Bay City), Associate Professor of English
Crystal McMorris (Bay City), Associate Professor of English
Shannon Mehl (Freeland), Benefits/Human Resources Specialist
Kristopher Nitz (Saginaw), Assistant Professor of Biology​
Myung Pinner (Grayling), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Jason Premo (Saginaw), Director of Admissions and Career Development
Michael Pressler (West Branch), Associate Professor of Biology
James Proctor (Sterling), Associate Professor of Welding
Nicole Ryan (Kawkawlin), Associate Professor of Computer Science and Information Technology
Ronald Schlaack (Owosso), Associate Professor of Physics
Karol Syring (Bay City), Associate Professor of Office Administration and Technology
Trent Wade (Fenton), Associate Professor of Foreign Languages
Mary Warner (Saginaw), TAA Case Manager – Great Lakes MI Works!
Christina Yaroch (Hope), Associate Professor of Foreign Languages

Written by Leah Twilley, Communications Specialist.