Please enable JavaScript to view this page.
Delta College 53rd Annual Employee Awards Recognition

April 16, 2018

Delta College recognized the outstanding achievements of its faculty and staff, as well as celebrated years of service, at a dinner in their honor on Friday, April 13 at Horizon Conference Center in Saginaw.

Congratulations to the following individuals:

Bergstein Award for Teaching Excellence
Sponsored by the Bergstein Family of Midland since 1965, this award recognizes commitment to teaching excellence and is the highest honor a faculty member can receive at Delta College. Recipients are chosen by a vote of Delta College students and faculty.
Cynthia Drake (Midland), Professor of Biology; and Lori Ziolkowski (Bay City), Assistant Professor of Management

Delta College Chapter of American Association of University Professors Governance Award
Elizabeth Ullrich (Holly), Associate Professor of Political Science,

Delta College Chapter of American Association of University Professors Service Award
Sheryl Jensen (Saginaw), Office Professional in Shared Governance and Academic Services

Ormond E. Barstow and Ludo K. Frevel Award for Scholarly Achievement
Jacob VanHouten (Midland), Professor of Biology

Rollin M. Gerstacker Award for Innovative Use of Technology in Teaching
Daisy McQuiston (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Nursing 

Don Laughner Award for Creative Change and the Innovation of the Year Award (from the League for Innovation in the Community College)
Crystal McMorris (Bay City), Associate Professor of English – Created an Associate in Applied Arts in Journalism and Integrated Media degree

Lynn Heatley Award for Distinguished Service by an Adjunct Faculty Member
James Cherry (Midland), Mathematics and Elizabeth Christensen (Midland), English

Executive Committee for Administrative and Professional Staff (ECAPS) Team Excellence Award
Delta College Librarian Team – Anne Elias (Saginaw), Government Documents & Reference Librarian; Colleen Kothbauer (Midland), Reference Librarian; Michele Pratt (Saginaw), Manager of Library Programs & Services; Martha Stuit (Bay City), Reference Librarian; and Carol Whittaker (Midland), Reference Librarian

ECAPS Willie E. Thompson Outstanding A/P Service Award
Tom Caylor (Bay City), Coordinator of Foundation Communications & Annual Campaigns

Faculty Executive Committee Award for Support Staff Distinguished Service
Marge Swiercz-Clark (Bay City), Administrative Office Professional in Science and Mathematics

Support Staff Excellence Award
Ceil Lusk (St. Charles), Administrative Office Professional in Articulation

Congratulations to the following employees honored for their years of service:

40 Years
Diane Collier (Saginaw), Merchandise Specialist - Bookstore

30 Years
Timothy Cross (Saginaw), Mechanical Maintenance Person
Dr. Charissa Urbano (Ypsilanti), Professor of Biology 

25 Years 
Angela Edwards-Sinclair, MSA (Saginaw), Office Professional in Records and Registration
Beth Zieman (Saginaw), Professor of Nursing 

20 Years
Johnny Aguilar (Saginaw), Custodian
Stuart Barbier, Ph.D (Bay City), Professor of English
Sheilanthi Chandran (Midland), Specialist – Student Development
Chris Curtis (Midland), Professor of Psychology
Marshall Fulmer (Saginaw), Producer Director
Kara Jimenez (St. Charles), Professor of Lifelong Wellness
Terri Klaczkiewicz (Saginaw) Financial Aid Advisor
David Legg, Ph.D (Saginaw) Assistant Professor of Lifelong Wellness
Terence Oleary (Freeland) Operations Manager
Roseann Ondrajka (Sebewaing) Lead Office Professional – Testing Center
Karen Randolph (Midland) Professor of English
Scott Schultz (Midland) Professor of Physics
Matthew Sullivan (Saginaw) Planning and Construction Manager
David Urbaniak (Bay City) Academic Advisor

15 Years 
Sharon Bernthal (Birch Run), Associate Professor of English
Thomas Boudrot (Midland), Associate Professor of Political Science
Tara Cunningham (Freeland), Fitness and Recreation Center Manager
Dr. Laura Dull (Coleman), Social Sciences Division Chair
Dr. Michael Faleski (Midland), Professor of Physics
Tari Hackborn (East Tawas), Associate Professor of Computer Aided Design
Beth A. Heyart, Ph.D (Midland), Professor of Communication
MaryJo Miller (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Dental Hygiene
Mary M. Roberson (Bay City), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Randall Rummel (Saginaw), Specialist – Student Development
Gregory Teter (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Criminal Justice

10 Years 
Cindy Ballor RDMS, RT(N) (Freeland), Assistant Professor of Sonography
Kristine Burch (Saginaw), Financial Aid Advisor
Betheen Glady-Teschendorf (Birch Run), Associate Professor of English
Kristopher Howery (Midland), Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Information Technology
Joseph Lewis (Saginaw), Associate Professor of English
Dr. Jason Lijewski (Midland), Associate Professor of Management
Tammy McInerney (Linwood), Associate Professor of Nursing
James Miller (Chesaning), Instructor of Automotive Service Technology
Maggie Moffett (Breckenridge), Laboratory Coordinator
Dr. Jennifer Niester-Mika (Freeland), Associate Professor of English
Lisa O’Laughlin (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Office Administration and Technology
Shelly Raube (Saginaw), Athletic Director
Donovan Traverse (Williamston), Health and Wellness Division Chair
Jay Trombley (Reese), Electrician
Eric Wiesenauer (Auburn), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Lori Ziolkowski (Bay City), Assistant Professor of Management