Please enable JavaScript to view this page.
Delta College 52nd Annual Employee Awards Recognition

Delta College recognized the outstanding achievements of its faculty and staff, as well as celebrated years of service, at a dinner in their honor on Friday, April 7 at The Grand Banquet and Conference Center in Essexville.

Congratulations to the following individuals:

Bergstein Award for Teaching Excellence
Sponsored by the Bergstein Family of Midland since 1965, this award recognizes commitment to teaching excellence and is the highest honor a faculty member can receive at Delta College. Recipients are chosen by a vote of Delta College students and faculty.
Brad DeRoche (Mt. Pleasant), Associate Professor of Music; and Cindy Kramer Reszke (Reese), Associate Professor of Radiography 

Delta College Chapter of American Association of University Professors Governance Award
Stuart Barbier (Bay City), Professor of English, and Dr. Amy French (Saginaw), Assistant Professor of History

Delta College Chapter of American Association of University Professors Service Award
Dee Dee Wacksman (Bay City), Former Trustee

Ormond E. Barstow and Ludo K. Frevel Award for Scholarly Achievement
Jeff Vande Zande (Midland), Professor of English

Rollin M. Gerstacker Award for Innovative Use of Technology in Teaching
Michael Faleski (Midland), Professor of Physics

Don Laughner Award for Creative Change and the Innovation of the Year Award (from the League for Innovation in the Community College)
The President’s Speaker Series – Barbara Handley-Miller (Bay City), Professor of Communication; and Dr. Nancy Vader-McCormick (Bay City), Professor of Communication

Lynn Heatley Award for Distinguished Service by an Adjunct Faculty Member
Mark Stange (Essexville), Welding and Christina Szilagyi (Saginaw), History

Executive Committee for Administrative and Professional Staff (ECAPS) Outstanding Teamwork Award
Website/Portal Lead Planning Team – Valerie Bledsoe (Kawkawlin), Administrative Assistant in Student and Educational Services; Pam Clark (Saginaw), Executive Director of Institutional Advancement; Leanne Govitz (Beaverton), Director of Marketing and Public Information; Amanda Hammond (Saginaw), Web Content Marketing Coordinator; Charity Hyde (Beaverton), IT Operations Director (Ellucian); Sue Nowicki (Bay City), Manager of Business and Auxiliary Services; Jason Stahl (Caro), Chief Information Officer (Ellucian); David Wallace (Bay City), Enterprise Applications Director (Ellucian); and Barb Webb (Midland), Director of Business Services

ECAPS Outstanding Service Award
Emily Clement (Midland), Manager of Strategic Partnerships

Faculty Executive Committee Award for Support Staff Distinguished Service
Kayleen VanWert (Bay City), Administrative Office Professional in the Academic Office

Support Staff Excellence Award
Craig Wilson (Bay City), Lead Support in Counseling, Advising and Career Services

Congratulations to the following employees honored for their years of service:

40 Years
Dr. Martin Goodson (Saginaw), Professor of Physics

35 Years
Janet Burns (Bay City), Office Professional in Records & Registration
Pamela Smith (Bay City), Professor of Dental Assisting
Ellen B. Waxman (Saginaw), Counselor

30 Years
James Bourassa (Bay City), Custodian
Gregory Bulson (Bay City), Custodian
Dr. Julia Fogarty (Midland), Professor of English
Susan Nowicki (Bay City), Manager of Business and Auxiliary Services
Barbara Powers (Bay City), Bookstore Manager

25 Years
Margaret Frost (Bay City), Coordinator of Public Services – Library
Tina Kaczmarek (Bay City), Coordinator – Library Evening/Weekends
Timothy Piechowiak (Bay City), Printing Production Coordinator
Kenneth Ritter (Saginaw), Electrician
Steven Rosin (Midland), Professor of Mathematics
Dr. Ralph Worthing (Saginaw), Professor of Psychology

20 Years
Terri Gould (Breckenridge), Registrar
Monica Ibanez (Bay City), Mi Works! Team Leader
Linda LaRoche (Bay City), Student Finance Specialist
Dr. Masood Mowlavi (Rochester Hills), Professor of Biology
|Erik Radomski (Bay City), General Trades
Patrick Randall (Bay City), Academic Data Analyst

15 Years
Nathan Blecke (Bay City), Professor of Mathematics
Jeanne Doyle (Bay City), Accountant
Dr. Charles (Jeff) Dykhuizen (Midland), Professor of Psychology
Martin Finney (Midland), Career Advisor
Nicole Gwizdala (Bay City), Payroll/Accounting Specialist
Barbara Handley-Miller (Bay City), Professor of Communication
Jill Harrison (Auburn), Associate Professor of Child Development
Timothy Heinz (Bay City), Professor of Respiratory Care
Dr. Raymond Lacina (Midland), Professor of English
Natascha Rivet (Bay City), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Maureen Schultz (Saginaw), Laboratory Manager in Biology
Sheila Swilley (Saginaw), Office Professional in Human Resources
Karen Treadway (Hemlock), Manager of the Teaching/Learning Center

10 Years
Amy Ames (Caro), Business Services Manager at Mi Works!
John Bailey (Midland), Mi Works! Business Services Representative
Shannon Bragiel (Kawkawlin), Purchasing Specialist
Julie Cramton (Saginaw), Transfer Credit Evaluator
Melanie Dancer (Saginaw), Counselor
Chey Davis (Midland), Associate Professor of English
Charles Eldridge (Bay City), TV Traffic Coordinator in Broadcasting
Jennifer Gaumer (Freeland), Academic Advisor
Leanne Govitz (Beaverton), Director of Marketing and Public Information
Dr. Bernadette Harkness (Midland), Associate Professor of Chemistry
Gregory Hubner (Bay City), Associate Professor of Accounting
Cindy Kramer Reszke (Reese), Associate Professor of Radiography
Peter Larkowski (Midland), Chair of the Science Division
Dr. Eric Lee (Midland), Assistant Professor of Technical, Trades & Manufacturing
Amy McKinstry-Barnard (Saginaw), TAA Case Manager at Mi Works!
Ryan Petersen (Midland), Associate Professor of Political Science
Jamie Spreeman (Freeland), TAA Case Manager at Mi Works!
Dr. Crystal Starkey (Sanford), Associate Professor of English
Patrick Truszkowski (Auburn), Associate Professor of Biology
Thomas Wells (Saginaw), Associate Professor of Mathematics
Anna Willman-Onstott (Breckenridge), Mi Works! Manager